Carving out time

Last week I asked a little question, you may have seen it or you may have missed it. How do we carve out time? You know what I mean. The time to do the things you always mean to do, but don’t. For those of you who think you’re really good at this, how do you do it? I’m guessing most of us are NOT good at this. Especially if you have small children. It is very difficult for me to stick to a regimen of carving out time for myself. But just for kicks, let’s try it. I’m going to carve out time right now. Well, first, I’m blogging. That’s time I don’t normally spend away from my family. But for now, let’s say that doesn’t count for me. Let’s say I need to carve out time this week to leave my iPhone (this is like cutting off an appendage) and do something which gives me joy. What the heck gives me joy? Here is what I’m supposed to say:

  • Spending uninterrupted time with my kids, because they won’t be this little for long and they are my heart.
  • Gaze lovingly into my husband’s beautiful blue eyes and just enjoy every moment we have in this life together.
  • DIY my entire house.
  • Organize a OAMC event and cook an entire month of meals in one day.
  • Sit and read a book.

Would all of these things give me joy? Sure! Are they the first thing that comes to mind? Uh…. no. So what comes to mind?

  • Go to the bathroom, uninterrupted.
  • Take a shower, uninterrupted.
  • Drink a glass of wine in the evening without struggling to stay awake because I’m too exhausted to stay up past 9pm, much less DRINK while up late.
  • Reading a book to my kids at bedtime and have them actually go to sleep afterwards.
  • Go shopping, at a store, for me.

So, here’s my plan. I’m going to pick one from each list. First, I am going spend time with my kids this weekend withOUT my iPhone. Second, I am going to make myself go shopping for some summer clothes for ME.

What will you carve out time for this week?

Tell me what you think

